Parata's COVID-19 Response

2015 Next-Generation Pharmacist® Finalists Announced

Excellence and Leadership in Pharmacy Recognized


PLAINSBORO, N.J. (June 10, 2015) Parata Systems and Pharmacy Times are pleased to announce the finalists for the 2015 Next-Generation Pharmacist® awards. Now in its sixth year, the Next-Generation Pharmacist awards honor pharmacists, technicians, student pharmacists and industry advocates who are defining the future of the industry.

Pharmacy’s leaders will come together to recognize and celebrate the contributions of this year’s finalists at the Aug. 6 Innovation and Inspiration awards gala in Orlando at Soundstage 33, Universal Studios Florida®. At this event, all finalists will receive their awards, and the category winners and overall winner — the 2015 Next-Generation Pharmacist — will be announced. The evening will include entertainment from renowned motivational speaker, entertainer and author Giovanni Livera, who will inspire attendees with his “Anything is Possible” approach to magic, work and life.

“The Next-Generation Pharmacist program has witnessed the nation’s changing health care industry and the growing importance of pharmacists’ expanding roles,” said DJ Dougherty, CEO, Parata. “This year’s 34 finalists epitomize excellence in their industry and practice, and their leadership and commitment to constant innovation will continue to shape the future of pharmacy. We hope you’ll join us in celebrating their achievements at the awards gala in August.”

“Today’s Next-Generation Pharmacist finalists elevate the profession of pharmacist to new heights,” said Ashley Hennessy Talamo, publisher of Pharmacy Times. “These unsung heroes are at the forefront of managing patient health outcomes. They are passionate about making a difference in the lives of their patients and are committed to continual innovation.”

This year’s Next-Generation Pharmacist nominations were received across 11 award categories. An independent panel of esteemed judges, chaired by Pharmacy Times Editor-in-Chief Fred M. Eckel, RPh, MS, ScD (Hon), reviewed all entries.

At least three finalists are selected in each category, representing a true cross section of the industry, including large chain retailers, independent pharmacies, specialty pharmacies, military bases, health clinics and educational institutions.

The 2015 finalists are:

Civic Leader

Mayank Amin, PharmD, RPh, MBA., Walgreens, Pfizer, BAPS Charities

Mark Decerbo, PharmD, BCPS, BCNSP, Roseman University of Health Sciences, College of Pharmacy

George Kress, RPh, AAHIVP, Walgreens Co.



Kevin Borg, PharmD, FIACP, FACA, Potter’s House Apothecary

John Coler, RPh, Shrivers Pharmacy/Coler LTC

Phillip LaFoy, DPh, Blount Discount Pharmacy, Inc.


Future Pharmacist

Sgt. 1st Class Ryan Lampien, University of Incarnate Word

Natalie Roy, PharmD, Candidate 2016, Drake University

Jordan Wulz, PharmD, Palm Beach Atlantic University


Health-System Pharmacist (NEW Category)

Michael Evans, B.S., RPh, Geisinger Health System

Joseph Gibbons, PharmD, BCPS, Inova Alexandria Hospital,

Daniel Kus, B.S., Pharm, RPh, Henry Ford Health System/Pharmacy Advantage


Lifetime Leadership

Robert Borchers, RPh, Midwestern Compounding Pharmacy

Richard Hoffmann, B.S., Pharm, PharmD, Drug Information Consulting

William Sheridan, RPh, The Kroger Co.


Military Pharmacist

Maj. David Delgado, PharmD, MBA., M.S., US Army Health Center – Vicenza Italy

Maj. David Jarnot, BSC, BCACP, United States Air Force

Lt. Nathan Magare, PharmD, Naval Hospital Camp Lejeune


Patient Care Provider

Jack Dunn, RPh, Jasper Drugs

Janine Mansour, PharmD, CGP, Ralphs Pharmacy

Whitney Rice, PharmD, BACP, Fry’s Pharmacy/Division of Kroger

Linda Woods, RPh, Albertsons Safeway Pharmacies


Rising Star

Kelechi AguWa, PharmD, Walmart

Paul Fleming, PharmD, Palmetto Primary Care Physicians, LLC

Evan Schnur, PharmD, Walmart


Specialty Pharmacist

Sami Shafiq, PharmD, CPh, AAHIVP, Walgreens Co.

Ron Smith, PharmD, MBA., Biologics Inc.

Chris Williams, PharmD, Manatee County Government



Verender Gail Brown, B.S., RPhT, CPhT, School District of Osceola County

Damira Gajek, CPhT, Andrew Rader US Army Health Clinic

Sherry Silvers, CPhT, Mission Hospital


Technology Innovator

Julie Hessick, RPh, CoverMyMeds

Greg Kitchens, PharmD, Artia Solutions LLC

David Medvedeff, PharmD, MBA., VUCA Health


These finalists will be featured in the July 2015 issue of Pharmacy Times and on One winner, selected from the winners of the pharmacist categories and announced at the Aug. 6 gala, will be named the 2015 Next-Generation Pharmacist and be featured on the August 2015 cover of Pharmacy Times.
More information can be found at and For regular updates, follow Next-Generation Pharmacist on Twitter and Facebook.


About Parata Systems, LLC

Parata provides technology solutions to support coordinated care, better health outcomes and lower medical costs, empowering pharmacists to grow their businesses. Founded in 2001, the Durham, N.C.-based company is a brand trusted by more than 12,000 pharmacies and a growing number of global health care professionals serving diverse patient populations. Our technology has filled more than 2.5 billion prescriptions, helping pharmacists avoid an estimated 15 million medication errors. For more information, visit, contact us via or 888-PARATA1 (727-2821), or check us out on Facebook or Twitter.


About Pharmacy Times

Pharmacy Times is the industry’s leading publication, providing practical, clinical information pharmacists can use in their everyday practices when counseling patients and interacting with physicians. Each issue contains articles and features covering medication errors, drug interactions, patient education, pharmacy technology, disease state management, patient counseling, product news, pharmacy law and specialty pharmacy. The Pharmacy Times Office of Continuing Professional Education is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education as a provider of continuing pharmacy education. Learn more at, write to, call 609-716-7777 or visit us on Facebook and on Twitter. Pharmacy Times is published by Michael J. Hennessy Associates, Inc., a leading provider of health care publications, research, information and education.


Next-Generation Pharmacist is a registered trademark of Parata Systems, LLC.

Universal elements and all related indicia TM & © 2015 Universal Studios. All rights reserved.

Other Stories You May Like